Carpathian Convention

The Framework Convention on the Protection and Sustainable Development of the Carpathians was adopted in Kiev on May 22, 2003, and was ratified by Romania by Law no.

The signatory states to this Convention are: the Czech Republic, Poland, Romania, Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Ukraine and Hungary.

The Convention has created the general framework for cooperation between the signatory states for various areas of regulation, such as:

  • biodiversity conservation,
  • spatial planning,
  • water resources management,
  • agriculture and forestry,
  • transport,
  • tourism,
  • industry and energy

Each of the mentioned framework provisions is to be developed and applied through additional protocols.